Maryland Library Association Annual Business Meeting May 9, 2025 Roland E. Powell Convention Center Ballroom Ocean City, MD 7:30 AM – 9:30 AM EST

Call to Order: 8:04 AM with a video from Senator Van Hollen.

Minutes of the 2024 Annual Meeting: Moved from this portion of the meeting due to the fact that minutes were still being printed/examined by members. The vote, pending small edits to include some names, approved the minutes. The vote happened after the President's Report.

Treasurer's Report: Cheryl Nardiello shared the balance sheet as of April 30, 2025. The total equities and liabilities are up from this time last year by an amount of \$73,167.75. Cheryl then shared the profit/loss statement. The net income for April 2025 was \$27,321.87.

Nominations and Elections Committe Report:

Association of College and Research Libraries Vice President/President-Elect: Gaby Messinger

Association of College and Research Libraries Secretary: Jennifer Martin Adult Services and Reference Division Vice President/President-Elect: Melissa Lauber Adult Services and Reference Division Secretary: Elizabeth Slack Black Caucus Vice President/President-Elect: Chelsea Shockley Leadership Development Division Vice President/President-Elect: Rachel Miller Leadership Development Division Secretary: Kalyn Au Support Staff Division Vice President/President Elect: Nicole McLain Support Staff Division Secretary: Kim Modeski Youth Services Division Vice President/President Elect: Dwynn Griffin

Youth Services Division Secretary: Karen Earp

MLA Treasurer: Cheryl Nardiello

MLA Vice President/President-Elect: Conni Strittmatter

2025 Annual Conference Committe Report: Chelsa thanked the conference committee, the volunteers, and presenters for a successful conference. The conference in 2026 will be back at the Hyatt in Cambridge, MD.

President's Report: Teonja's big goal was to engage members more and have active members. She spent a lot of time talking to anyone and everyone, including staff at various counties. Teonja wanted to have MLA out in the community more, which was accomplished by attending events such as the Edgar Allan Poe festival. Teonja helped oversee the first MLLI since 2029, which was a resounding success. The program will continue to operate every other year moving forward. Teonja also wanted to update the MLA manual, which was done. Part of this manual update included editing the fundraising policy wording which will be discussed at the May 2025 executive board meeting. Teonja also helped oversee the launch of the new GrowthZone platform, along with the edit of names of divisions/groups to align with the organization better. The audit group which oversaw this editing of divisions/groups, subsequently, has been sunset. Teonja helped revamp Leadership Day and wrote plenty of letters of support, especially for MASL. Teonja spoke at LATI, attended a gathering for the renaming of the UMD College of Information Studies, and also sat on a panel for the Delaware Association of School Libraries.

Vice President Elect's Report/Goals for New Year: David spent the last year pitching in to assist Teonja where he could. The next conference is May 6-8, 2026. He noted that Lady Brion's phrase of "Persist and Resist" is a good way to frame his goals for the next year. Rather than SMART goals, David suggested goals that were more frameworks: Engage our core. Expand our coalition. Construct our future.

Business Agenda

EDI Division Vote: Teonja reminded members that the vote is open and that we need 10% of membership to agree to establish.

Association Statement Framework: There has been an increased call nationally for organizations to make official statements on various events. We do not have the ability to respond to everything, therefore MLA will work with Citizens for Maryland Libraries to craft a framework on when and who will be making official statements so the Maryland Library community can speak with one voice.

Awards:

MLA President's Customer Service Award: Sierra Walker and the Staff of Project Encore (Enoch Pratt Free Library)

Honorary Membership: Debby Bennett & Kerry O'Donnell

Outstanding Support Staff Award: Shirley mason, Circulation Service Manager, Baltimore County Public Library

Outstanding Member Award: Tif Sutherland, MLA Past-President/Reference Supervisor, Calvert Library

Margaret Carty Emerging Leader Award: Alice Spencer-Knell, Library Associate II, Anne Arundel County Public Library

Libraries Change Communities Award: Seeds for Success Mentorship Program – Sarah Mullen, Michele Noble, Vilma Sandoval Sall, Anne Arundel County Public Library

Woodlawn Community Reading Festival – Nay Keppler, Baltimore County Public Library

Project of the Year: Thomas Vose, Director, Ruth Enlow Library of Garret County – Classic Buttons Program

Andrea Berstler, Executive Director, Carroll County Public Library – Mock Trial Camp

MLA Excellence in Marketing Award – Campaign: Anne Arundel County Public Library – Library Giving Week Campaign

MLA Excellence in Marketing Award – Individual Piece: Washington County Free Library – A Night of Enchantment Gala Poster

Outstanding Volunteer Award: Lois Findlay, Anne Arundel County Public Library

Adjournment: 9:12 AM